Bring the opportunity to access high speed internet for communities

The Otter Creek Communications Union District (OCCUD) exists for the purpose of supporting the municipalities in and near the Rutland Region by bringing the quality and speed of internet needed to compete in a global economy, access the health services needed, study and work from home as wanted or needed, and overall have the same communication resources as those that live in more urbanized areas.

Member towns and representative for the Otter Creek CUD

Formed in July 2020 with the Town of Brandon taking the first step (as outlined in​ ​Vermont State Statute​) to form a communications union district and quickly after joined by Goshen, the OCCUD has 11 member municipalities as of November 2020.
Benson
Gina Cull - Alternate
gcull@kinneypike.com
Brandon
Dave Atherton - Alternate
datherton@townofbrandon.com
Castleton
Tim Munks
tmunks84@gmail.com
Mary McIntyre – Alternate
mary.mcintyre9195@gmail.com
Chittenden
Barbara Gabrielson – Alternate
-
Fair Haven
Tracy Richards
twrichvt2@gmail.com
Goshen
Cassandra Hayes
802chayes@gmail.com
Hubbardton
Chris Custer
tkcuster@gmail.com
Mendon
Larry Courcelle
ljcourcelle@gmail.com
Dick Wilcox
dwilcox@sover.net
Pawlet
Jessica Van Oort
jessvanoort@gmail.com
Pittsford
Tony Ferraro
tony@theferraros.org
Poultney
Mark Teetor
mteetor0@gmail.com
Terry Williams
kellukhar@yahoo.com
Rutland City
TBD
Rutland Town
Shrewsbury
Laura Black
lblack@vermontel.net
Sudbury
Colleen Wright
opsarge@earthlink.net
Wells
TBD
West Haven
TBD
West Rutland
Mary Ann Goulette
mgoulette@westrutlandvt.org
John Harvey – Alternate
jharvey@velco.com
Ex Officio Board Members
TBD

Increasing connectivity in our surrounding communities

Because the communities need a better internet to thrive and compete in a global economy.
While the OCCUD is busily working to get to the construction phase to bring you the opportunity to access high speed internet through FTTP (fiber to the premises), it is also finding ways to support alternative connectivity options in our surrounding communities. The OCCUD has sponsored the installation of more than 14 wireless hotspots throughout the Rutland Region. Consider using one of the increasing number of public Wi-Fi Hotspots available throughout the State.

Do you want a better internet?

If your municipality has not yet joined a CUD, please connect with us or your local Selectboard and ask them to consider joining. It involved no risk, liability, or obligation of the municipality nor its residents; but it does allow the OCCUD to bring fiber to any in the town that say, “Hey! I want better internet!”
I want a better internet

Our executive committee

Tony Ferraro
Chair 
Jessica Van Oort
Secretary
Larry Courcelle
VCUDA Rep
Jackie Savela
Treasurer
Bill Moore
Member
Tim Munks
Member
Andrew Quint
Member
John Hill
Member

Together, we're moving forward

Let’s move forward together to make a positive impact for the people of Vermont.
The work of connecting Vermont to high speed internet and productively accessing virtual tools is only feasible with the help of concerned, energetic people.

If you’re interested in helping out or want more information on becoming a volunteer, please contact us.
Connect with us

News and events

View upcoming and past events, agendas, meeting recaps, notes and recordings for all Otter Creek CUD meetings. Access important news, articles and resources.
Visit calendar

Let’s connect

If you have any questions or comments about the Otter Creek CUD, internet connectivity, or other virtual resources, let’s get connected!
Contact us



Organization Documents

BylawsProcurement PolicyFeasibility StudyBusiness Plan

Sign up for our newsletter

© 2022 Otter Creek Communications Union District. All Right Reserved.
Website by: Group6 Interactive